Python 2.6 – Subclassing unittest.TestCase

“I need to write a lot of system and component integration tests. Many of them will involve hitting the database, getting a result set and transforming it into XML/JSON/something else. I´ll need to create some flat files which contain expected results for these kind of tests. It would help me immensly if I had some utility classes to help me out with the reading/parsing/transforming of said utility functions.”
The above is what I should have thought to myself a few weeks back. Naturally, I didn’t. So I began creating test cases with their own utility functions included. Shortly afterwards this way of doing things revealed itself to be silly, and bad. So I went through several rounds of refactoring, and ended up with some utility classes.
Now I want to subclass unittest.TestCase and include all my utility classes in every test case I write.

First attempt:

Code example will go here if I’m ever able to locate it (I started this post a year ago, got distracted and then forgot about it. The code examples I had prepared at the time are now long gone…)

Resulting error:

method __init__ takes 2 parameters only 1 provided

eh? …
Cue head scratching session.
Followed by a bit of googling. Didn’t quite find what I was looking for, though.
http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t737111-subclassing-unittest-testcase.html
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/8964461/subclassing-python-unittest-testcase-calling-the-same-main

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1323455/python-unit-test-with-base-and-sub-class

This last solution seemed great on paper, but multiple inheritance and calling functions in (one of) the super class(es) proved to be bafflingly complicated. I’m using jython/python 2.6, apparently multiple inheritance has been revamped in python 3.0 (but I’m stuck with 2.6 so I’ll never know).

Cue second head scratching session.

I decide to enlist the help of the resident genius on the project and he came up with the following snippet (took him a fair few tries though, which is why I’ve deemed it worthy of being posted here):

from my.testUtilities import DBMock
from my.testUtilities import JSONHelper
import unittest

class MyTest(unittest.TestCase):
    def __init__(self, methodName='runTest'):
        unittest.TestCase.__init__(self, methodName)
        self.DBMock = DBMOCK
        self.JSONHELPER = JSONHELPER

Job done.

Leave a Reply

